Jeremy Siek is a Professor of Computer Science in the School of Informatics and Computing at Indiana University. Jeremy teaches courses in programming, programming languages, compilers, logic, and other areas of computer science. Jeremy designs new language features to help programmers create and use software libraries and domain-specific languages, especially generic and high-performance ones. In particular, with Walid Taha, Jeremy invented the gradual typing approach to mixing static and dynamic type checking within the same language. Prior to that, Jeremy co-authored the Boost Graph Library and attempted to add concepts to C++. Jeremy is a member of the Center for Programming Systems at IU and Jeremy is an Ally for gender equity.

Email:, Office: Luddy Hall 3016, Blog, github, Twitter, CV, Calendar


  • The Boost Graph Library (ebook from Pearson, print from Amazon)
  • Essentials of Compilation (complete draft pdf)

Technology Transfer

I’ve been fortunate to see some of my ideas get used in the software industry:

  • Microsoft created a gradually-typed dialect of JavaScript, called TypeScript.
  • Facebook has added gradual typing to PHP. See the article in Wired magazine.
    Facebook has also created Flow, a static type checker for JavaScript.


My group’s research is currently funded by the following sponsors.

Thank you!

Recent Papers and Talks

The full list is available on Google Scholar and DBLP. Also, see further below for “authorizer” links to my ACM publications.


Previous courses at Univ. of Colorado:

Information for Students at IU

Students and Post-Doc’s

  1. Andre Kuhlenschmidt (Ph.D. student, Compilation of Gradually Typed Languages)
  2. Matthew Heimerdinger (Ph.D. student, Denotational semantics and proofs of compiler correctness)
  3. Tianyu Chen (Ph.D. student, Gradual information flow types for security)


  1. Deyaaeldeen Almahallawi (Microsoft, Ph.D. thesis: Towards Efficient Gradual Typing via Monotonic References and Coercions)
  2. Kuang-Chen Lu (M.S. student, Gradual Typing)
  3. Michael M. Vitousek (Facebook, Ph.D. thesis: Gradual Typing for Python, Unguarded)
  4. Chris Wailes (Google, Parallel Programming Languages)
  5. Matteo Cimini (Assistant Professor, Univ. of Massachusetts Lowell)
  6. Spenser Bauman (Ph.D. student, Meta-tracing JIT for Racket)
  7. Di Zhong (Undergraduate Research, now Ph.D. student at Northeastern Univ.)
  8. Zeina Migeed (Research co-op from Northeastern, now Ph.D. student at UCLA)
  9. Steev Young (Undergraduate Research in Gradual Typing)
  10. Josie Bealle (Summer Research Opportunity in Computing)
  11. Andre Yuri (Summer Research Opportunity in Computing)
  12. Weiyu Miao (LinkedIn)
    Ph.D. thesis: Reflective Metaprogramming
  13. Geoffrey Belter (Apple)
    Ph.D. thesis: Efficient Generation of Sequences of Dense Linear Algebra through Auto-Tuning
  14. Shashank Bharadwaj (VMware)
  15. Jonathan Turner (Microsoft Typescript => Mozilla Rust)
  16. Erik Silkensen (Flatiron Solutions)
  17. Neelam Agrawal (National Instruments)
  18. Sri Teja Basava (National Instruments)
  19. Ian Karlin (Postdoc at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
  20. Justin Gottschlich (Parallel Computing Lab @ Intel Labs)
    Ph.D. thesis: Invalidating Transactions: Optimizations, Theory, Guarantees, and Unification
  21. Moss Prescott (SlamData)
    M.S. thesis: Speaking for the Trees: a New (Old) Approach to Languages and Syntax
  22. Christopher Schwaab (Ph.D. student at the Univ. of St. Andrews)
  23. David Broman (Assoc. Prof. at KTH Royal Inst. of Tech., Sweden)
    Ph.D. thesis: Meta-Languages and Semantics for Equation-Based Modeling and Simulation

Authorizor (Free) Links to ACM Publications